كلمة الرئيس التنفيذي


Doha Bank CEO

بحسب تقرير آفاق الاقتصاد العالمي الصادر عن صندوق النقد الدولي لشهر يناير 2021، من المتوقع أن ينمو الاقتصاد العالمي بنسبة -3.5% في عام 2020 و5.5% في عام 2021. ومن المتوقع أن تسجّل الاقتصاديات المتقدمة نموًا بنسبة -4.9% في عام 2020 وبنسبة 4.3% في عام 2021. ويُتوقع أن تنمو الاقتصاديات الناشئة والنامية بنسبة -4.5% في عام 2020 وبنسبة 3.6% في عام 2021. وارتفع سعر النفط فوق مستوى 60 دولارًا للبرميل مع تجاوز الاستهلاك الصيني مستويات ما قبل الجائحة.

أعلن بنك الدوحة عن صافي ربح قدره 703 مليون ريال قطري للسنة المالية المنتهية في 31 ديسمبر 2020، مقارنة بـ 754 مليون ريال قطري لنفس الفترة من عام 2019 وذلك بعد أخذ مخصصات مادية للقروض غير العاملة. وقد ارتفع الدخل من الفوائد بنسبة ملحوظة بلغت 17.1٪ مقارنة بالعام الماضي ليصل إلى 2.3 مليار ريال قطري. وبلغ صافي الدخل التشغيلي 3 مليارات ريال قطري. وبلغ العائد على متوسط حقوق المساهمين 5.35٪ والعائد على متوسط الموجودات 0.66٪.

وفي ظل القيادة الحكيمة والرشيدة التي انتهجها حضرة صاحب السمو الشيخ/ تميم بن حمد آل ثاني – أمير البلاد المفدى، وتوجيهاته السامية لتقديم الدعم لجميع قطاعات الدولة والبنوك العاملة في مواجهة أزمة كوفيد – 19، وفي إطار الجهود الجماعية التي تبذلها كافة الهيئات والمؤسسات في قطر لمساعدة الأفراد في الدولة في التعامل مع الوضع الحالي المتعلق بجائحة فيروس كورونا، وبناء على التعليمات الصادرة من السادة/ مصرف قطر المركزي في هذا الخصوص، فقد بذل بنك الدوحة كافة الجهود الممكنة ليكون ركيزة أساسية في دعم خطط الدولة والمصرف المركزي ومساندة الشركات والأفراد في الاستفادة من جميع التسهيلات الممكنة وتذليل العقبات التي تواجه العملاء. وسوف يتكيف جميع العملاء مع التحوّل الرقمي الذي يتبناه البنك في المجال المصرفي.

في أبريل 2020، باعت قطر سندات بقيمة 10 مليارات دولار أمريكي على شرائح مدتها 5 و10 و30 عامًا. واتخذ السادة/ مصرف قطر المركزي إجراءات متنوعة لمكافحة خطر انتشار جائحة فيروس كورونا. ويشمل ذلك التدابير الطارئة، والقروض، والالتزامات الخاصة بالقطاعات المتضررة بسبب الإجراءات المتخذة لمكافحة انتشار فيروس كورونا، وتقديم الضمانات للبنوك المحلية ضمن برنامج الضمان الوطني لدعم القطاع الخاص، وتقديم الخدمات المصرفية للعمالة المنزلية. وتتوقع قطر للبترول أن ترتفع الطاقة الإنتاجية إلى 126 مليون طن في السنة بحلول عام 2027. وفي مايو 2020، أصدرت قطر قانونًا ينظم الشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص. وفي أكتوبر 2020، خففت قطر من القواعد الخاصة بملكية الأجانب للعقارات. ووضعت شروطًا وضوابط لملكية غير القطريين للعقارات في الدولة، مع تحديد المجالات التي يجوز لغير القطريين تملك العقارات فيها والاستفادة منها. هذا وقد جاءت دولة قطر في المرتبة 14 في الكتاب السنوي للتنافسية العالمية 2020.

ومن المتوقع أن يؤدي حل النزاع الإقليمي الذي استمر ثلاث سنوات ونصف إلى تحسين التجارة والسياحة والخدمات اللوجستية. واقتربت التجارة بين قطر ودول مجلس التعاون الخليجي من 12 مليار دولار في عام 2020 ومن المتوقع أن يرتفع هذا الرقم في الفترة القادمة. إن تطبيع العلاقات بين قطر وجيرانها من شأنه أن يساعد الاقتصاد القطري غير النفطي، كما سيؤدي استئناف رحلات الطيران إلى زيادة التدفقات السياحية وزيادة إقبال المشترين الإقليميين بسوق العقارات في قطر. كذلك من المتوقع أن يشجع تطبيع العلاقات السياح الخليجيين على العودة إلى قطر عندما تخفّ الجائحة في نهاية المطاف. ويساعد ذلك في تقليل الضغط على قطاعي العقارات والضيافة المتعثرين في البلاد. وعلى الصعيد الإقليمي، قد يساهم تحسُّن معنويات المستهلكين والمستثمرين وانخفاض المخاطر الجيوسياسية بشكل إيجابي في النتائج الاقتصادية، لا سيما قبل الفعاليات المهمة التي سيشهدها الإقليم في الفترة المقبلة مثل انطلاق بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم 2022 في الدوحة.

الدكتور ر. سيتارامان
الرئيس التنفيذي للمجموعة

Message from the Group Chief Executive Officer


Doha Bank CEO

According to the International Monetary Fund (IMF) for January 2021, global growth is projected at −3.5 percent in 2020 and 5.5 percent in 2021, respectively. Growth in the advanced economy group is projected at –4.9 percent in 2020 and 4.3 percent in 2021, respectively. Among emerging market and developing economies, growth is forecast at –4.5 percent in 2020 and 3.6 percent in 2021, respectively. Oil has surged above $60 a barrel as Chinese consumption surpasses pre-virus levels.

Doha Bank has reported a net profit of QR703 million for the last financial year ended December 31, 2020, as compared to QR754 million for the same period in 2019 after taking significant loan loss provision. The interest income of Doha Bank significantly grew by 17.1 percent as compared to last year to reach QR2.3 billion. The net operating income stood at QR3.0 billion. The return on average shareholders’ equity was 5.35 percent and the return on average assets was 0.66 percent.

Under the wise leadership pursued by H.H. Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani, Emir of the State of Qatar, and his directives to provide support to all sectors, and as part of the collective efforts made by all agencies and institutions in Qatar to help the people of Qatar in handling the current situation related to COVID-19 pandemic, and based on the instructions issued by Qatar Central Bank (QCB) in this regard, Doha Bank has made all efforts to be a main pillar in supporting the plans of the State, QCB and companies, and have been working to address the obstacles faced by all customers. All customers of the bank will adapt to the digital banking transformation adopted by Doha Bank.

In April 2020, Qatar sold USD$10 billion in bonds in tranches of 5, 10, and 30 years. The QCB came with various procedures to combat the risk of coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic. This includes the emergency procedures, loans and liabilities of sectors affected due to procedures taken to combat the spread of COVID-19, guarantees for local banks, National Guarantee Program to support the private sector and providing banking services for domestic workers. Qatar Petroleum expects capacity to rise to 126 million tonnes/year by 2027. In May 2020, Qatar introduced a law regulating partnership between public and private sectors. In October 2020, Qatar eased rules on foreign property ownership. It set conditions and controls for non-Qatari ownership of real estate in the country, specifying the areas in which non-Qataris may own and benefit from real estate. Qatar is ranked 14 in The World Competitiveness Yearbook 2020.

The resolve of the 3.5-year-old regional dispute will improve trade, tourism and logistics. The Qatar / GCC trade was close to $12bn in 2020 and this is expected to pick up further. The normalization of relations between Qatar and its neighbors would help Qatar’s non-oil economy, with a resumption of travel links eventually lifting tourism inflows and greater interest from regional buyers to Qatar’s real estate market. The normalization of relations should encourage GCC tourists back to Qatar when the pandemic eventually eases. This should help reduce the pressure on the country’s distressed real estate and hospitality sectors. Regionally, the boost to consumer and investor sentiment and lower perceived geopolitical risk may contribute positively to economic outcomes, particularly ahead of significant events such 2022 FIFA World Cup in Doha.

Dr. R. Seetharaman
Group Chief Executive Officer